Feb. 7, 1788

“Instruction for the Higher Police-Authorities” issued by the Austrian Government [Present-day Austria]: “8) Classification of Jews in Vienna. The Jewry of Vienna is classified into two categories (‘Gattungen’): 1) into tolerated, or those who are subject to pay an annual fee/tax and are [therefore] protected, and (then) 2) into foreign Jews. The tolerated  [Jews] may reside in Vienna with their wives and their unwedded children who are still dependent on them as well as their servants – either 1) for an undetermined amount of time or 2) for a predetermined amount of time/years. Therefore, there is a) a constant [toleration] and b) a limited toleration [for Jews]. […]”
Beyträge zur politischen Gesetzkunde im österreichischen Kaiserstaate; Herausgegeben von Johann Ludwig Ehrereich (Graf von Barth-Barthenheim): Erster Band; (Wien; 1821); (Contributions to the Political Statutes of the Austrian Royal State; published by Johann Ludwig Ehrereich (Earl of Barth-Barthenheim); (Volume I); (Vienna; 1821); Researched and Translated by Ziba Shadjaani 10/13/2017